An Introduction to Chakras

Introduction to Chakras

By Steph Wall

What are the chakras?

  • Chakra translates to “wheel” or “vortex”.

• They were conceptualised 4000 years ago.

• Chakra is literally a centre of organisation that receives, assimilates and expresses

life’s energy.

• They influence our body shape, chronic physical ailments, thoughts and behaviour.

• Each chakra represents a different human instinct - 1- survival, 2- sex, 3-power, 4-love, 5-communication, 6-intuition,7-consciousness

• Each chakra is responsible for an energy / frequency which corresponds to a

colour. For example the lowest colour frequency is red = base chakra, the highest is

violet = crown chakra.

  • Each chakra also has a sound frequency, called a bij mantra (see below) 

• We charge our chakras with energy. Energy comes in the form of thoughts,

awareness, attention, excitement etc. So by understanding our chakras, we understand

our physical, behavioural and emotional patterns

• Each chakra has 2 energy flows: the current of expression and the current of reception. When they are unbalanced we become either in excess or deficient.

• The way we deal with experiences in life, whether good or bad, cause us develop coping

strategies that either increase or decrease the flow of energy,  which can cause physical

or emotional problems.


How do we work with the chakras and heal and imbalances?

  • The first part is recognising which chakras need work and being open to allowing change to come into your life
  • Many different techniques can be used to “tune” your chakras such as yoga, meditation, mantra, colour visualisation, breathing and self study. 
  • To bring our chakras back into balance we need to either discharge or invite energy using the techniques mentioned. 


The Bij Mantras

Root Chakra - Lum

Sacral Chakra - Vum

Solar Plexus Chakra - Rum 

Heath Chakra - Yum 

Throat Chakra - Hum 

Third Eye Chakra - Om

Crown Chakra - Om 



Root Chakra - Red

Sacral Chakra - Orange

Solar Plexus Chakra - Yellow

Heath Chakra - Green 

Throat Chakra - Blue 

Third Eye Chakra - Indigo 

Crown Chakra - Violet  


Description for each Chakra


1- Muladhara

    Location: base of spine

    Emotional Issues: safety, security, family law and order, ability to provide for one's necessities

    Balanced: stability, grounding, trust, physical health

    Excessive : heavy, sluggish, monotony, hording

    Deficient: fearful, undisciplined, restless, underweight


2 – Svadhisthana

    Location: Abdominals, genitals, low back, hips

    Emotional Issues: blame, guilt, money, sex, power, control

    Balanced: pleasure, healthy sexuality

    Excessive: sex addiction, overly emotional, obsessive attachments

    Deficient: frigid, emotionally numb, fearful of pleasure


3- Manipura

    Location: Solar Plexus, stomach, middle spine

    Emotional Issues: trust, fear, intimidation, self esteem, self confidence, care of self and others, decision making, sensitivity to criticism

    Balanced: Vitality, willpower, self esteem 

    Excessive: Controlling, aggressive, scattered, constantly active

    Deficient: Weak will, lack of self esteem, passive, fearful 


4- Anahata

    Location: Heart, lungs, shoulders

    Emotional Issues: love, hate, resentment, grief, anger, loneliness, commitment, forgiveness, compassion, hope

    Balanced: self acceptance, good relationships

    Excessive: dependancy, jealous, possessive

    Deficient: shy, lonely, isolated, bitter, critical


5- Vissudha 

    Location: Throat, neck, mouth

    Emotional Issues: personal expression, addiction, judgement

    Balanced: clear communication, creativity

    Excessive: excessive talking, inability to listen, stuttering

    Deficient: fear of speaking or communicating


6- Anja 

    Location: Brow, brain

    Emotional Issues: truth, feelings of adequecy, intelligence

    Balanced: imagination, clear seeing, accurate perception

    Excessive: headaches, nightmares, hallucinations, lack of concentration

    Deficient: poor memory, unimaginitive


7- Sahasrara

    Location: Top of head, skeletal system, skin, muscular system

    Emotional Issues: ability to trust life, values, ethics, courage, selflessness, spirituality, faith, inspiration 

    Balanced: wisdom, knowledge, spiritual connection

    Excessive: Spiritual addiction, overly intellectual 

    Deficient: Learning difficulties, limited beliefs, apathy




Root - It is safe for me to be here

The earth supports me and my needs

I love my body and trust it’s wisdom

I am immersed in abundance

I am here and I am real. 


Sacral - 

I deserve pleasure in my life

I absorb information from my feelings 

I embrace and celebrate my sexuality 

My sexuality is sacred

I move easily and effortlessly

Life is pleasurable 


Solar Plexus - 


I honour the power within me

I accomplish tasks easily and effortlessly

The fire within me burns through blocks and fears

I can do whatever my will to do 


Heart - 

I am worthy of love

I am loving to myself and others

There is an infinite supply of love

I live in balance with others


Throat - 

I hear and speak the truth

I express myself with clear intent

Creativity flows in and through me

My voice is necessary


Third Eye 

I see all things in clarity

I am open to the wisdom within

I can manifest my vision


Crown - 

Divinity resides within me

I am open to new ideas

Information I need comes to me 

The world is my teacher

I am guided by a higher power

I am guided by my inner wisdom


Great books that explain the Chakras in more detail:

Anatomy of the Spirit - Caroline Myss

Eastern Body Western Mind - Anodea Judith 

Steph Wall